Mayor and Council Sworn in for 2018-2022 Term

Mayor and Council Sworn in for 2018-2022 Term
Posted on 12/06/2018
The City of Charlottetown’s new Mayor and 10 Councillors were sworn in on Thursday, December 6 at a ceremony held at the Rodd Charlottetown. Together, they accepted their responsibility to the citizens of Charlottetown and officially took office for their 2018-2022 term.

The ceremony involved each member of Council reciting the Oath of Office, as required in Section 80 of the Municipal Government Act. The Oath is an affirmation by each member that they are qualified, as required by law, to be part of Council and that they will, “diligently, faithfully, impartially and to the best of (their) ability perform the duties of office imposed by the Municipal Government Act and all other acts, regulations, and bylaws applicable to the City of Charlottetown.”

“Today is a big day. We have been doing a tremendous amount of work behind the scenes, connecting with key stakeholders, researching existing issues and looking for solutions, and even speaking with our Prime Minister, but today makes it all official,” said the new Charlottetown Mayor Philip Brown. “I’m thrilled to be a leader among leaders and look forward to serving this great city and working with all members of Council for the betterment of our citizens.”

Charlottetown’s Council for the 2018-2022 term is made up of two new Councillors, Alanna Jankov for Ward 1 and Julie McCabe for Ward 9, as well as eight incumbents Terry MacLeod for Ward 2, Mike Duffy for Ward 3, Mitchell Tweel for Ward 4, Kevin Ramsay for Ward 5, Bob Doiron for Ward 6, Greg Rivard for Ward 7, Jason Coady for Ward 8, and Terry Bernard for Ward 10.

At the Swearing In Ceremony, Mayor Philip Brown spoke to the crowd of family, friends, City staff and members of the general public about his priorities for the upcoming term. He also announced the appointment for the new Deputy Mayor.

“I’ve chosen Councillor Jason Coady to serve as Deputy Mayor,” said Mayor Brown. “I believe he has the best interests of the city at heart and will do well to serve in this role, as well as Councillor for Ward 8. I feel confident moving forward with Deputy Mayor Coady able to act as Mayor if ever I am absent, and I trust that he will be professional and available, willing to put in the additional time required as part of this role.”

One of the first orders of business for the new Mayor and Council is to establish a Council Advisory Committee, which will recommend the terms of reference and Council appointments to any and all ad hoc or standing committees. The City of Charlottetown uses this committee structure to process matters of importance. Issues that require the attention of Council are generally referred to the appropriate committee for review, discussion and consideration. The decisions of a committee are then forwarded to Council for approval.

To learn more about Mayor Brown and each of the City’s 10 councillors, and to access contact information for the Council, visit:


Media contacts:

Jennifer Gavin
Communications Officer
City of Charlottetown

Alicia Packwood
Social Media and Communications Assistant
City of Charlottetown